RUSH – Vapor Trails Remixed (2013)

RUSH - Vapor Trails Remixed (2013) full


One of the most controversial records by long-standing Canadian legends RUSH, “Vapor Trails”, originally appeared in 2002, has been completely Remixed and just released on Atlantic/Rhino Records.
The album, the band’s first in six years at that point, sported mixes that were loud & brash, and a horrible, distorted mastering job, having been held up as a prime example in the ‘loudness war’.
“Vapor Trails Remix 2013” now truly sounds like a Rush album, with crystal-clear production values that live up to the sonic standard Rush has set on so many previous recordings.

The band realized about the terrible sound of the album not too long after it was originally released.
“Vapor Trails was an album made under difficult and emotional circumstances – sort of like Rush learning how to be Rush again – and as a result, mistakes were made that we have longed to correct” says Geddy Lee.
He summed up his feelings about the record when he stated that although he felt Vapor Trails was an “imperfect piece of work that got out there,” but he still believes that the songs were very strong and a huge catalyst to a welcoming audience that made the album and the following tour become rousing successes for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame band.

Producer David Botrill has helmed the task of the remixing, and the end result is something that all Rush members are pleased with.
No doubt fans will be too, whether they discover “Vapor Trails” for the first time via this new release or hear a sonic reimagining of a record they’ve already heard for more than a decade now.
Every track has been given a new life, from the fire of ‘One Little Victory,’ ‘Secret Touch,’ and ‘Ceiling Unlimited’ to the melodic musicality of ‘Sweet Miracle’ and ‘How It Is’, these songs have been redeemed now.

There was no re-recording or performance correction done on “Vapor Trails Remix 2013”. The reason ‘new’ details may seem to have appeared in those songs is due to the fact the multi-tracks were properly revised so parts either muted or turned down in the original mixes may shine through differently now.

RUSH - Vapor Trails Remixed (2013) back cover

“Vapor Trails Remix 2013”, indeed, sounds like a ‘new’ record.
With the fresh remix the mud is gone, there’s crisp bass lines completely obscured before, the guitars are more potent, and Geddy’s vocals are so much clearer that they don’t have to compete with the rest of the instruments.
The remixed version of Vapor Trails will also be included in the new 7-disc boxed set RUSH: THE STUDIO ALBUMS 1989-2007, which features every studio album Rush recorded for Atlantic Records.

01 – One Little Victory
02 – Ceiling Unlimited
03 – Ghost Rider
04 – Peaceable Kingdom
05 – The Stars Look Down
06 – How It Is
07 – Vapor Trail
08 – Secret Touch
09 – Earthshine
10 – Sweet Miracle
11 – Nocturne
12 – Freeze (Part IV of Fear)
13 – Out Of The Cradle

Geddy Lee / Vocals, Bass, Keyboards
Alex Lifeson / Guitars
Neil Peart / Drums, Percussion


You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Rayvee says:

    Such an obvious cash grab, as fans and curious on-lookers will grab this. Test For Echo will get the treatment next, no doubt, as the sound of that one is just as terrible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.