ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA - Live (2013) mp3 download


Released by Frontiers Records, “Live” comes on the 40th Anniversary of the ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA, taken from a 2001 live performance for a PBS television special in Los Angeles at CBS Television.
Around those years, ELO was really Jeff Lynne and long term fellow member Richard Tandy joined by most of the musicians who played on ELO’s ‘Zoom’ album, including excellent drummer Gregg Bissonette (David Lee Roth, Steve Lukather) who more than compensates for Bev Bevan.

The set list is heavy on the band’s glory years and it is great to hear live versions of “Twilight” and “Secret Messages” from their early ’80s albums. The extended jamming on the classic “Roll Over Beethoven” still remains in their set from almost when they began.
It is strange none of the ‘Zoom’ songs make this live album, but I’m happy as there’s all the classics I want to hear: “Evil Woman”, “Can’t Get It Out Of My Head”, “Confusion”, “Don’t Bring Me Down”… the soundtrack of my youth.
There are two previously unreleased studio tracks: “Out Of Luck” (recorded in 2010) and “Cold Feet” from 1992. Both of these are good, solid Jeff Lynne tunes with a classy ELO feel, especially the catchy “Out Of Luck”.

ELO’s “Live” sound is top notch, and the use live cellos (much better than string synths) has enhanced the performance.
The evening’s set list was a treasure trove of classic hits making this a special album indeed, a must have for fans (like me) of the legendary Electric Light Orchestra.
Love it.

01 – Evil Woman
02 – Showdown
03 – Secret Messages
04 – Livin’ Thing
05 – Sweet Talkin’ Woman
06 – Mr. Blue Sky
07 – Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
08 – Twilight
09 – Confusion
10 – Don’t Bring Me Down
11 – Roll Over Beethoven
12 – Out Of Luck (studio, previously unreleased) [bonus]
13 – Cold Feet (studio, previously unreleased) [bonus]

Jeff Lyne – Lead vocals, guitars
Richard Tandy – keyboards, piano
Marc Mann – keyboards, guitar, backing vocals
Gregg Bissonette – drums, backing vocals
Matt Bissonette – bass, backing vocals
Rosie Vela – backing vocals
Peggy Baldwin, Sarah O’Brien – cellos

ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA - Live (2013) back cover


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.