VOODOO SIX – Songs To Invade Countries To (2013)

VOODOO SIX - Songs To Invade Countries To (2013) mp3 download


UK hard rockers VOODOO SIX were presented in this blog two years ago with their very good 2011’s EP but the group have been rocking the scene for more than a decade highly praised by the press and recognized members of the rock and metal elite like Steve Harris or Mike Portnoy.
V6 (as they like to be called) will be releasing their eagerly awaited 3rd full length CD “Songs To Invade Countries To” next June 3, just in time to embark on an impressive European tour supporting Iron Maiden.

The music of Voodoo Six is indeed like a V6 engine in all cylinders inspired by classic British traditional bluesy Hard Rock boasting the raw energy of ’70s / ’80s bands with modern stylings thrown in.
“Songs To Invade Countries To” is firmly planted into a category of earthy hard rock with an updated sound driven by potent riffs which meld with groovy hooks and strong melodies, always moving forward without becoming repetitive.
On all these tracks, the scales and solos along with the riffage are impressive, the drums sustain the foundation with every hit and the bass is never forgotten as it plays throughout, sometimes along with the other instruments, sometimes seemingly solo. Vocally, singer Luke Purdie isn’t afraid to bare his soul via rough tones giving the opus an attitude that transpires denim ‘n leather.

The CD opens up with the hard rocking stomper “Fallen Knives” driven by a catchy groove and distinctive bass line. Then the guitar that joins in drags you into the album as soon as it starts, you have no choice but to continue to listen.
There seems to be a lot of depth and thought involved within the song structures in this album, and you can hear the band trying to expand their traditional territories giving you pleasant surprises throughout.
This is evident on third track “Lead Me On” which is a quite elaborated ballad / midtempo tune complete with strings subtly meandering away in the background. Lots of sweet guitar sounds coming from both guitarists with a simple, catchy chorus and nice phrasing from Purdie. The song ends with a nice cello on pair with clean guitars.
“Sink Or Swim” rocks again in a traditional way, but then in “You Don’t Know” V6 go for a more heavy funky groove which is very catchy and surely a future live favorite. The intro of “Your Way” starts with a slightly southern feel but soon changes into a different kind of animal. This one has a lot of angry gravely vocals, nice flowing heavy riffs, thunderous drumming and a meaty guitar solo to boot.

“Sharp Sand” is another clattering mini-anthem that gallops into the room on the twin guitar attack of Matt Pearce and Chris Jones, and in Joe Lazarus the band clearly have a warhorse of a drummer whose style perfectly suits this bruising style of hard rock.
“Stop” is one of the more interesting tracks in this recording. It starts with a lot of heavy bass and funky groove (Tony Newton is a noteworthy bass player who adds extra weight to the album) mixed with classic rocking riffs which almost seem a bit jazzy in places. The bridge had gentle backing ooooh vocals which to me was a nice little element to throw in. There is bits and pieces mixed into this album that shows V6’s intentions to evolve musically.
The song immediately after, titled “Brick Wall”, is another highlight. A classic bluesy hard rocker where all the musicians get carried away through a really live vibe. Another muscular rocker featuring driving guitars and solid drums with a strong seventies feel to the proceedings.
The album finishes in a pedal-to-the-metal fashion with “Higher Ground”, a simple yet huge hard rock stomper sporting a smokin’ solo. Purdie mesmerises with his raucous vocals and although he does make it seem effortless, it’s clear a lot of effort was put in creating this recording and it does show.

In “Songs To Invade Countries To” Voodoo Six have become a mature Hard Rock monster delivering a bunch of groovy, punchy, unstoppable rockin’ tunes with a traditional feeling whilst still manages to obtain a modern sound which allows it to fit in with the 21st century’s rock and metal scene.
There’s plenty of hard and heavy rocking numbers to thrill and satisfy, yet it’s full of creativity, structure and wonderful melodies. It has songs which divert you elsewhere and throw you off guard that really makes you smile.
A well oiled V6 engine with a fully-charged-turbo sonic attack.

01. Falling Knives
02. All That Glitters
03. Lead Me On
04. Sink Or Swim
05. You Don’t Know
06. Your Way
07. Sharp Sand
08. Stop
09. Brick Wall
10. Waiting In Line
11. Higher Ground

Luke Purdie – Vocals
Tony Newton – Bass
Matt Pearce – Guitars
Chris Jones – Guitars
Joe Lazarus – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.