SCREAMING EAGLES – From The Flames (2013)

SCREAMING EAGLES - From The Flames (2013) mp3, download


SCREAMING EAGLES are a young four-piece combo from Northern Ireland, and despite being formed only one year ago their debut “From The Flames” shows a band plenty of cohesiveness and professionalism.
Not so long ago, guitarist Adrian McAleenan, Ryan Lilly (bass) and Kyle Cruikshank (drums) started to write and rehearsal songs packed with classic rock riffs which influenced their formative musical years.
But needed a rock ‘n roll singer who would be the final piece in the puzzle, and found in the transported-from-the-early-eighties Chris Fry the right spot.

Inspired by classy rockin’ acts, the first comparison coming to mind after listening “From The Flames” is AC/DC, but their music is way too sophisticated for such a generalization. Sure they have a similar energy, but at this point who is not influenced by the Aussie legends?
I hear several affectations in Screaming Eagle’s sound, like Foghat, Free, the bluesy side of more contemporary acts such as Little Caesar or Airbourne, and of course Bad Company, fundamentally from Chris Fry which sounds like a cross of Paul Rodgers and Chris Cornell.
This band really do have a solid back line with the bass and drums locking together like cogs in a well-oiled music machine, providing the concrete foundation for which guitarist Adrian McAleenan rocks through on many an occasion with some hot finger work and complimenting the tracks with consistent tone and chunky riffs.

The music in “From The Flames” is direct, straight hard rockers in the very traditional way. Nothing new, but all really well played and arranged in a catchy way.
The energy is unleashed from the go with “All The Way” introducing us to the powerful and bluesy pipes of Fry. “Down To The River” rocks in a hard-boogie swag, while a total raw passion outcrop through the darkness of “Devil In The Dust”.
These in your face hard rockers are driven by the intense riffage of McAleernan, who finds more room for soloing primarily in “Fight The Fire” and “One Man Revolution”. There is a strong Rolling Stones essence within the penultimate track “Blood” which gives us a glimpse of the rock ‘n roll these boys have in their veins.

“From The Flames” offers 10 classic hard rock tunes full of energy and rip-roaring attitude, but quite ‘polished’ in its delivery. I mean, Screaming Eagles rocks, yet not in a sweaty / gritty way.
This young band owns a musicianship and aplomb much ahead of their incipient foundation. They have captured and distilled the ‘classic sound’ of the genre, not only providing in some ways a tribute to the rock greats but also demonstrating how new music can encapsulate such a formula of composition and still be fresh and exciting.
Recorded in Ireland but mastered in California, the production in “From The Flames” is fabulous for an independent self-managed product, even far superior to many major releases.
Really Good Classic Hard Rock, nothing more, nothing less.

01. All The Way
02. Down The River
03. Hungry For More
04. Fight The Fire
05. Vampire
06. Devil In The Dust
07. Rock N Roll Soul
08. One Man Revolution
09. Blood
10. Take My Time

Vocals – Chris Fry
Guitar – Adrian McAleenan
Bass – Ryan Lilly
Drums – Kyle Cruikshank


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.