STRYPER – Second Coming (2013)

STRYPER - Second Coming (2013) mp3 download


Christian Metal pioneers STRYPER are returning into the fight again recording new original material. Meanwhile they are releasing via their new label Frontiers Records the CD “Second Coming”, a collection of re-recorded classics from the band’s back catalogue plus two new songs.

Fans might frown at bands issuing re-recorded material, and it’s a hard sell to people that already own the previous recordings, however this album serves a purpose.

“Second Coming” is a way for the brothers Sweet & Co. to gain ownership of the masters to these recordings — they can control and license out the songs as they wish, or to whom. In this case, to present the band in their new label and provide fresh takes on these songs showing how the band sounds nowadays.

And how Stryper sounds in 2013? The new recordings on “Second Coming” have a consistent, punchier and livelier sound than their slick and overly produced predecessors.

Case in point, “To Hell With The Devil”, “Soldiers Under Command”, “Sing A Long Song” and “The Way” have more bite than the versions previously available.

As for the two new songs listed in the album, both are quite good rockin’ monsters, riff heavy and full of power, fitting in very well with the older material closer to the classic Stryper style than anything heard on the last studio albums from the band.

“Bleeding From Inside Out” has a crawling pace with early ’80s inspired, hard-heavy guitars and some fresh, mesmerizing vocals by Michael Sweet, while “Blackened” sees the band being more up-to-date Hard Rock in a groovy suit that eventually is a winner for the song itself.

“Second Coming” is must for any eighties US Hard Rock fan, even if you have Stryper’s complete back catalogue in your collection.

It’s worth checking out to listen how good the yellow & black guys still sound today. These new recordings showcases the guitar duo of Michael Sweet and Oz Fox’s stellar, razor sharp and energetic musicianship.

Time-keepers Robert Sweet and Tim Gaines prove they are no slouches either as their dynamic teamwork lowers a ‘Godly’ bombastic boom. Stryper’s trademark three part harmonies remain intact throughout “Second Coming” and Michael Sweet’s pipes sound ageless.

Stryper should have a new album out later this year, in the meantime, enjoy these really well done reworked classics.

Hard Hock Hallelujah.

01. Loud N’ Clear

02. Loving You

03. Soldiers Under Command

04. Makes Me Wanna Sing

05. First Love

06. The Rock That Makes Me Roll

07. Reach Out

08. Surrender

09. To Hell With The Devil

10. Calling On You

11. Free

12. The Way

13. Sing Along Song

14. More Than A Man

15. Bleeding From Inside Out (New Track)

16. Blackened (New Track)

Michael Sweet – vocals and guitar

Oz Fox – guitar and vocals

Tim Gaines – bass and vocals

Robert Sweet – drums

STRYPER - Second Coming (2013) back cover


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.