SHOTGUN ALLEY formed mid 2009 in New Zealand – an atypical land for Melodic Hard Rock – but trust me, these guys know how to rock in the best ’80s tradition.

At the very end of 2011 the band released their self titled debut locally, and now has been remixed and published by an European label. And more than that… Shotgun Alley got ready a brand new one.

Some of Shotgun Alley’s members have Maori forefathers, but they music is awesomely based on pure ’80s Arena Rock plenty of killer choruses and soaring melodies.

They had already completed various New Zealand & Australian tours and opened for Alice Cooper, Steel Panther and Def Leppard among others so things are looking bright for the six-piece.

The bulk of the music for their debut album “Shotgun Alley” was recorded in Los Angeles, then finished in Auckland, produced, mixed & mastered by keyboardist Jimmy Wong.

This is an extremely polished, luxurious collection of terrific catchy tunes with huge guitars, bombastic drums, punchy keybords, excellent lead and backing vocals and an enviable catchiness.

Honestly, I can’t find a sole track in this debut that does not oozes quality.

Songs as the irresistible foot-tapping “Want This”, “Give It All Up For Rock”, “Walk Away” or “Look At Me Now” are simply marvelous examples of pure Stadium Rock, spoting huge, I mean HUGE choruses and stabbing guitar attack.

“Waiting To Fly” is just a perfect combination of hard hot riffs, monster backing vocals and a melody to die for. A perfect Hard Rock tune. Believe me: Perfect.

And next they deliver the incredible “Suicide Boulevard”… what were they thinking? A killer one after a killer one? This is too much… no wait.. thanks guys!… this is a heavenly pleasure.

Shotgun Alley may recall Def Leppard or they neighbors White Widdow, but they’re even more impactful, melodious and fun.

The band is able to write awesome midtempo ballads as well, as the ready-for-radio “Eventually” and “Heart Like Glass”, or synth filled pure melodic rockers such as “I Came Here To Love You”.

I can’t recommend you Shotgun Alley enough.

This is the kind of Arena / Stadium Melodic Hard Rock we love; catchy, melodious, polished yet punchy… just AWESOME with capitals.

As said, I can’t find a failure here, this is simply an oustanding debut – a Hit after Hit.

In my Top-10 this year. Period.


01 – Universe

02 – Want This

03 – Walk Away

04 – Give It All Up For Rock

05 – Eventually

06 – Look At Me Now

07 – I Came Here To Love You

08 – Waiting To Fly

09 – Suicide Boulevard

10 – Heart Like Glass

11 – All We Know

12 – Can’t Stop The Rock

Mark Falcon – Vocals

Jimmy Wong – Keyboards

Josh Grant Betty – Bass

Bahador Borhani – Guitar

Davie Love – Guitar

Scotty Rocker – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.