IAN GILLAN & TONY IOMMI – Who Cares 2CD (2012)

IAN GILLAN & TONY IOMMI - Who Cares 2CD (2012


Deep Purple’s IAN GILLAN and Black Sabbath’s TONY IOMMI took everybody by surprise in 2011 by releasing a the 2-track single under the WHOCARES moniker.

For the occasion, the two rock legends called a few friends and were soon joined by Jon Lord (Deep Purple) on keyboards, Jason Newsted (ex Metallica) on bass and Nicko McBrain (ex Iron Maiden) behind the drum kit.

Not only jamming together for the sheer fun of things, this new project has united for a cause — rebuilding and helping the music school in Gyumari, Armenia. The single was a joyful and inspired moment.

Gillan & Iommi have now decided to make “WhoCares” an album for their devoted fans. Classic songs, a lot of rarities and unreleased material in two CDs of fantastic rare music.

Among the tracks are the two original WhoCares songs; Deep Purple’s unreleased studio jam “Dick Pimple” and a song from Repo Depo (a band Ian Gillan formed before the Deep Purple reunion which never released any material)

We also find two previously unreleased songs from Tony Iommi featuring Glenn Hughes; obscure collaborations, B-sides lost on seven-inch vinyl and exclusive live versions recorded on radio.

The sound quality is outstanding, specially considering that these are mostly unreleased material or have not received previously a digital treatment.

“WhoCares 2CD” is much more than a compilation or a cash-in anthology, this is a real collector’s item and a must have for every Ian Gillan, Tony Iommi, Purple, Sabbath – in short; Rock music fan.

CD 1 :

01. WhoCares – Out Of My Mind (first time on an album) Featuring Jon Lord, Linde Lindström (HIM), Jason Newsted (Metallica), Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden)

02. Black Sabbath – Zero The Hero

03. Ian Gillan feat. Iommi, Ian Paice & Roger Glover – Trashed

04. M. Rakintzis feat. Ian Gillan – Get Away (first release on a Gillan album, only released in Greece before)

05. Tony Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes – Slip Away (Rare Track first time on CD)

06. Gillan – Don’t Hold Me Back

07. Ian Gillan – She Thinks It’s A Crime (Limited 7″ vinyl B-Side, First Time on CD)

08. Repo Depo feat. Ian Gillan – Easy Come, Easy Go (previously unreleased)

09. Deep Purple feat. Ronnie J. Dio – Smoke On The Water” (live with the Royal Philarmonic Orchestra)

CD 2 :

01. WhoCares – Holy Water (first time on an album) Featuring Jon Lord, Linde Lindström (HIM), Jason Newsted (Metallica), Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden)

02. Black Sabbath – Anno Mundi

03. Tony Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes – Let it Down Easy (Rare Track first time on CD)

04. Ian Gillan – Hole in My Vest (7″ vinyl single B-side, first time on CD)

05. Gillan & Glover feat. Dr. John – Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me

06. Ian Gillan & The Javelins – Can I Get A Witness (old recording)

07. Garth Rockett & The Moonshiners aka IG – No Laughing in Heaven (Rare Track)

08. Ian Gillan – When A Blind Man Cries (Live at Absolute Radio, previously unreleased)

09. Deep Purple – Dick Pimple (Previously Unreleased Studio Jam)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.