FATAL SMILE – 21st Century Freaks (2012)

FATAL SMILE - 21st Century Freaks (2012)


FATAL SMILE is a Swedish band from Stockholm, who are already working on their way to stardom from 1995 onwards.

Known by their gun & barrel Hard Rock / Melodic Glam music, ‘freak’ image and intense live shows, they’re releasing “21st Century Freaks”, the band’s 4th and heaviest work to date.

Fatal Smile wear they black belt sleaze attitude in their make up as much as their excellent musicianship. The band was started by guitar player Mr. Y, who after 2007 completely changed the entire line up and introduced us to a whole new breed of ‘freaks’.

I say it worked out pretty well for Fatal Smile. After some critical appraise from the music scene on their last release ‘World Domination’, they landed on touring spots all over the globe and had a chance to tour with legends like Dio, Queensryche, Wasp and many more.

And if you ask any of these bands about the freaks, they won’t shy away about their bleeping crazy live shows, full on intensity with an emphasis on kicking your ass. Who wouldn’t love a band like this?

Ohh yeah and they’re from Sweden which translates to the best kept rockin’ bands that you probably need to check out.

They spent 2011 recording “21st Century Freaks”, and with this devilish offering they bring us the careful production that is evident, the stylistic imagery on their first video single “Welcome to the Freakshow” as well as their bombs away rhythm section.

And that’s not even counting their charismatic guitar player and band leader, you have quite a top notch heavy Hard Rock record from top to bottom that should make waves.

Opener “Welcome to the Freakshow” is an explosive slab of stabbing glam / aggressive Hard, where lead singer Blade’s voice is evil & brooding and the thick guitars of Mr. Y are delusional and dark as hell.

“Raising Hell in Heaven” is an instant kick starter featuring some sick guitar thumping ala old school Wasp, not a surprise some people in the media circles have compared the band to them before.

Fatal Smile adds diversity to the CD with a sharp sounding power ballad titled “Broken Heart”, featuring some rising vocals brought to you by Blade once more. It isn’t sugar coated at all, the razor guitars are all over and the melody is powerful.

The ball keeps rolling with ball and chain on the anthem laden “My Private Hell”. First thing that comes to mind on this tune is that it could of made a hell of soundtrack song for a horror movie.

The final track on the album, “For The Last In Line” is the only ‘real’ ballad, but after a slow piano and vocal introduction the rest of the band kick-in and the pace picks up to a rocking finale.

Don’t be frightened of Fatal Smile’s brooding, shocking, balls-out sleaze monster look, just put your guard down and these guys will blown you away musically.

Let be carried by the intensity, the kick-ass hard rockin’ attitude, the blend of powerful ballads, the soaring gutted vocals of Blade, the razor yet melodic guitars and the power implosion of the rhythm section and you’ll love this CD.

The production is crisp and strong, with a menacing attack but polished.

“21st Century Freaks” is a hard-hitting recording, full of muscle and with the wild attitude of Glam rock’s hardest side.

Well done.

01 – Welcome To The Freakshow

02 – Nailed To The Wall

03 – Raising Hell In Heaven

04 – Judgement Day

05 – Broken Heart

06 – My Private Hell

07 – Scarecrow

08 – Innocent

09 – Break These Chains

10 – Take It To The Limit

11 – For The Last In Line

Blade – Vocals

Mr. Y – Guitars

Alx – Bass

Philty – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.