SIXX: A.M. – 7 (2011)

SIXX: A.M. - 7 (2011) acoustic ep


On December 13, Motley Crue’s bassist Nikki Sixx side project SIXX: A.M. is releasing “7”, a new collection of tracks which aim to put a new spin on 7 songs from their 2 successful albums ‘The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack’ and ‘This is Gonna Hurt’.

“7” features the band performing acoustic versions of tracks from each of their two albums, reworked with different arrangements.
The opening track “Lies Of The Beautiful People” consists of acoustic guitar and oriental orchestration that make the song more mysterious than the original. The solo guitar is also a highlight.
“Is Gonna Hurt” has received a beautiful piano arrangement, and their hit single “Life Is Beautiful” is remarkably revisited with strong guitars that sound as powerful as an electric one.
“Help Is On The Way” features a very appealing combination of acoustic guitar, cellos, violins and piano alongside speechless vocals with high quality arrangements.
“Sure Feels Right” is a great fusion of strings and piano with an electro-acoustic guitar work. “Pray For Me” is more stright, with a double acoustic six string guitar panned on both channels.
“Accidents Can Happen” ends the album with a moody, slow melancholic feel.

SIXX: A.M. “7” is much more than ‘let’s play some of our songs with an acoustic’.
All songs have been reworked at some point that sometimes sound as new ones. There’s new beautiful melodies and gorgeous arrangements with a nice variety of high quality textures.
James Michael is a great singer, his vocal range gets even more amazing on these stripped versions, enhanced by the piano, cellos and violins background.
“7” reinforces the fact that SIXX: A.M. isn’t a spare time project for Nikki Sixx and his talented bandmates, it’s a serious and interesting power plant of ideas and musicality.
Very Good.

01 – Lies Of The Beautiful People (acoustic)
02 – Is Gonna Hurt (acoustic)
03 – Life Is Beautiful (acoustic)
04 – Help Is On The Way (acoustic)
05 – Sure Feels Right (acoustic)
06 – Pray For Me (acoustic)
07 – Accidents Can Happen (acoustic)

Nikki Sixx: Bass, Keys, Backing Vocals
DJ Ashba: Guitars, Effects
James Michael: Vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.