D-A-D – Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark (2011)

D-A-D - Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark (2011)


One of the most important Danish bands, rockers D-A-D, are back in the business with the brand new album “Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark”
This ‘hyponymous’ title refers to the group’s original name, Disneyland After Dark. When the group made their international breakthrough in 1989, they had to change the band name to D.A.D. to avoid an impending lawsuit from the Walt Disney Company.

Founded by bros. Jesper and Jacob Binzer D-A-D began playing together in the early 1980s in Copenhagen, Denmark, releasing their first EP in 1985 and have now been together for more than 30 years with only one change in the lineup, as Laust Sonne replaced former drummer Peter Lundholm Jensen in 1999.
Recorded in different sessions while touring, between the Studio23 in Frankfurt and several Copenhagen recording facilities, “Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark” was produced by Nick Foss, responsible of band’s most successful album to date ‘No Fuel Left for the Pilgrims’ (1989).

You have a bunch of pretty straight forward hard rockers such as “A New Age Moving In”, the nineties influenced “The Last Time In Neverland” and “The Place Of The Heart”.
Also present are the classic D-A-D-style songs with an American touches – which it is their trademark – on “Breaking Them Heart By Heart” and the melodic rocker “Fast On Wheels”.
One of the best tracks on the album is “The Wild Thing In The Woods”, a moody rock tune with heartrending vocals and great guitar work in that typical D-A-D vibe.
“We All Fall Down” is a dense mid-tempo with clean guitars and a fine refrain, whilst “Cant’ Explain What It Means” has a bluesy feel and some interesting chord progressions.
Their more commercial and catchy side is present as well on the instant “I Want What She’s Got” and the dirty and fun “Drag Me To The Curb”.
D-A-D offers a complete package, as the final song is a beautiful classic rock ballad; “Your Lips Are Sealed”. A climatic tune including grand piano and one of the best Jacob’s guitar solos on the album.

Seems D-A-D and producer Nick Foss really gel together, as “Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark” is the best D-A-D album in a long, long time.
This new recording shows the band returning to their characteristic hard driving, streamlined rock, with a revitalized sound and energetic songs.
D-A-D’s particular way of hard rocking is blended here with some Classic Rock elements and their usual American-Cowboy touches, plus that typical Scandinavian melancholy present on many of the band’s works.
Well written, played and produced, “Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark” is a fine return to the roots from this Danish combo.
Really Nice.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrock

01 – A New Age Moving In
02 – I Want What She’s Got
03 – The End
04 – Fast On Wheels
05 – The Place Of The Heart
06 – The Last Time In Neverland
07 – Breaking Them Heart By Heart
08 – We All Fall Down
09 – The Wild Thing In The Woods
10 – Cant’ Explain What It Means
11 – Drag Me To The Curb
12 – Your Lips Are Sealed

Jesper Binzer – Vocals, Guitar
Jacob Binzer – Guitar
Stig Pedersen – Bass
Laust Sonne – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.