FASTWAY – The Collection [Japan ed. remastered] (2011)

FASTWAY - The Collection [Japan ed. remastered] (2011)

Formed by ‘Fast’ Eddie Clarke (a guy so talented that Lemmy replaced him in Motorhead with two guitarists) and Pete Way (UFO founder and bassist), Fastway were a critically acclaimed band that never seemed to blowup to the success they deserved.

Fronted by the incredible Irish vocalist Dave King, they had a power chord, riff laden, synth backed, fists raised in the air sound that was the very definition of an ’80s hard rock band.

Clarke chose a more mainstream hard rock direction with his new band, and indeed the self-titled debut album was very well-received in the U.S., climbing into the Top 40.

Encouraged, they quickly returned to the studio with new bassist Charlie McKracken to record 1984’s ‘All Fired Up’. The album still made it into the American Top 60 despite waning interest from their label and continued nonplussed indifference back in the U.K. and Europe.

Looking for a change after losing their rhythm section (replaced by bassist Paul Reid and drummer Alan Connor), Fastway hop the pop-metal bandwagon with the slick 1986’s ‘Waiting for the Roar’. The synth-laden album also introduced keyboardist and sometimes second guitarist Shane Carroll.

An offer to provide the soundtrack for the heavy metal horror flick ‘Trick or Treat’ seemed like a perfect shot at redemption.

The film flopped, but the soundtrack was a moderate success, and stayed on the Billboard Top 200 chart for eleven months. The very little money the band received, caused in-fighting and the band soon broke up.

“The Collection”, a recent Japan edition, includes remastered versions of the best material from their earlier career (the first 4 albums with vocalist Dave King) and a couple of tracks with new vocalist Lea Hart.

Great sound quality.

01 – Easy Living

02 – Another Day

03 – Heft

04 – We Became One

05 – Hurtin’ Me

06 – Move Over

07 – Girl

08 – All Fired Up

09 – If You Could See

10 – Don’t Stop The Fight

11 – Close Your Eyes

12 – Death Of Me

Dave King – Lead Vocals

Lea Hart – – Lead Vocals

‘Fast’ Eddie Clarke – Lead Guitar

Shane Carroll – Keyboards, Guitar

Paul Reid – Bass

Charlie McCracken – Bass

Alan Connor – Drums

Jerry Shirley – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.