JEFF PARIS – Freak Flag [remastered + 1] (2011)

JEFF PARIS Freak Flag remastered + 1 bonus

“Freak Flag” it’s the much sought after fifth solo album from AOR icon Jeff Paris which was initially released in Japan only in 1998.
It was the follow-up of the experimental ‘Smack’, and saw the songwriter getting back to his AOR / Melodic Rock roots.

What made “Freak Flag” so special is that Jeff Paris – an excellent singer in his own right – invited some great vocalists to perform a part of the songs.
The first two songs were sung by Juno Roxas from the Australian band Roxus (known for their incredible ‘Nightstreet’ album) and show the songwriter at his hard rocking best.
Other vocalists include Neville MacDonald (Skin), Derek Davis (Babylon A.D.) and Rick ‘Moon’ Calhoun (Michael Thompson Band).
Of course Jeff sings a couple of songs himself, but for one reason or another the album sounds quite cohesive.

The guest vocalists were all very positive about the vibe on the album, as each of them performed the individual song in his own special way, making it something of his own, so to speak.
A great collection of songs, that were sometimes meant to be recorded by other bands.

This digitally remastered re-issue comes with the bonus track “Hygiene” (previously unreleased), which is a nice poppy melodic rock song to conclude the CD.
If this album is still missing in your collection, grab this chance to finally add it.
A great slab of Melodic Hard Rock.

01 – Love Me Do Me
02 – Invisible Man
03 – Tomorrow May Be Too Late
04 – Fuel To Your Fire
05 – Freedom Road
06 – White People
07 – Life Of My Broken Heart
08 – Let It Out
09 – Bottom Of The Barrel
10 – All Night Long
11 – Dancin’ On The Ashes
12 – Requiem For Stevie Ray
13 – Hygiene [prev. ureleased] (bonus track)

Jeff Paris : Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Drums, Keys
Juno Roxas : Vocals
Derek Davis : Vocals
Rick ‘Moon’ Calhoun : Vocals
Nevil MacDonald : Vocals

Thanks Ralf!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.